Advice for a 20 something? | ExpatWoman.com

Advice for a 20 something?

Latest post on 15 March 2014 - 10:42

Good morning,

I'm a 27 year old freelancer in the media field and I'm finding it really hard to make friends because of my wacky and unpredictable work schedule. It's inconsistent and not really conductive to creating any friendships. I'm not sure if this forum is mostly directed at mothers but I thought I would try my luck anyway.
I read somewhere about the coffee mornings that are organized through the site but am afraid to feel out of place in terms of age range/interests etc.

Also, I live in the JLT area and was wondering if anyone could suggest any nice activities such as yoga or some kind of class I could join since I don't drive here and it would be more convenient if it were around.

Thanks for reading!

Latest post on 16 March 2014 - 13:58
Thanks so much for your replies. I'll check out meetup.com and real pilates. I've gotten a couple of replies as well which is nice because it helps to feel less alone in this place where everyone is either busy or leaving the country! Be careful with some of the Meetup groups as they can be a little sleazy and lots of men on the lookout for a good time ( if you know what I mean)
Latest post on 16 March 2014 - 13:01
Thanks so much for your replies. I'll check out meetup.com and real pilates. I've gotten a couple of replies as well which is nice because it helps to feel less alone in this place where everyone is either busy or leaving the country!
Latest post on 15 March 2014 - 12:20
Have you tried meetup.com? Im a foodie, so I went for a food related meetup group event, it was interesting to note that most of the people who came were relatively new in Dubai who were probably looking to make friends & I could already see some people hit it off! Put in a search for your interests or even JLT, and you will find groups relevant to what you are looking for. <em>edited by ajfa on 15/03/2014</em>