Working as a midwife in Dubai | ExpatWoman.com

Working as a midwife in Dubai

Latest post on 10 June 2014 - 13:26

Hi everyone
I'm just after information and advice about what it's like to work as a midwife in Dubai?
I've been approached by a recruiting agent about a job in Doha, Qatar. I'd never really thought about working in the Middle East but their email has sparked my interest. Therefore I'd like to research and compare different countries with the Middle East.
We are a family of 3, we have a 19 month old. We currently live in the UK. I've been an NHS midwife for 10 years and I'm very experienced in the intrapartum setting, both delivery suite and midwife led unit.
Any advice about working and living in the Middle East would be appreciated.
Thanks Kate

Rate it00

Rate it00

Latest post on 27 November 2015 - 16:48
I've been researching this recently, and I've seen a range of 15000-17000 for experienced and DHA licensed western midwives in private hospitals in Dubai - one posting set the upper range as 20,000. I saw these salaries posted on midwifery jobs on jobs.trovit.ae
Latest post on 12 June 2014 - 14:34
I worked in the health system in Abu Dhabi for 16 years with many midwives who sponsored their families. As a midwife you are automatically a senior nurse so have the salary and grade to allow you to sponsor. In fact even the junior staff nurses, mostly Filipino, earned enough to sponsor their husband and children and a lot of them did, This was in the government sector. ETA - I am not sure if the system in Dubai is the same. From what I have seen of the government hospitals the care is not midwife led so the midwife positions may not be as senior. I know that a few years ago they were advertising for senior western midwives in the government obstetric hospital here so it may have changed. The government hospitals in Abu Dhabi have a midwife led system with good packages for midwives. <em>edited by Genie on 12/06/2014</em>