Stay in Dubai or move to the UK? (70k AED vs 5500kGBP) | ExpatWoman.com

Stay in Dubai or move to the UK? (70k AED vs 5500kGBP)

Latest post on 13 February 2016 - 23:27

Hi dearies,

I need some advice about movement! We are originally from Africa, but working in Dubai. We have one daughter. Cummulative we earn 70k aed monthly total. We pay everything from there including rent and schooling.

My husband has gotten a job in the uk, which would pay him about 3500k pounds per month after tax. I am a medical professional and could easily get a job that would pay me 2000 if i agree to follow him and we take the job.

We havent lived in the uk before, so i am not sure of the cost of living. My husband is very much interested in the position as he knows there is a chance of getting PR in the UK after 5 years and eventually citizenship (maybe), as opposed to Dubai where we have to renew visas every 2 years. He also feels that if he loses his job or i lose mine, we would have to go back to our country (classic pessimist). He also thinks having UK expereince would be good for our resumes.

He has the option of either bristol or wolverhampton.

However, i am masterialistically worried about taking a big pay cut and change in lifestyle (i love it here).

Please do share your thoughts. thanks in advance!

Latest post on 02 April 2016 - 12:24