Age discrimination seeking for a job | ExpatWoman.com

Age discrimination seeking for a job

Latest post on 21 May 2016 - 21:48

I have been looking for a job for the past few months and have been experiencing discrimination due to my age.

I am 39 years old, single and from the UK. I have a law degree, a post graduate diploma in legal practice, 9 years of work experience in the UK, and 6 years of work experience in Dubai.

I have a lot of legal administration experience as I worked as a paralegal in the UK and I have 5 years of executive administration experience in Dubai.

The company I was with last year closed down after several years and the company I am with now is not doing very well so I have been told to look for another job.

I have two credit cards with two banks, each of which I owe over 50,000 AED. I was able to make the repayments before, however, last year I lost my job as my company closed down. I then joined another company but as my salary was lower I am not always able to make the minimum payments on my credit cards and as the company isn’t doing well I am being told to look for another job.

I am now constantly being chased by the banks as I cannot afford to make the payments, one bank in particular keeps calling me, threatening to blacklist me, cash the cheque for the full amount owed (which I signed as collateral when I took out the credit card) and once that bounces file a police case against me and have my passport taken by the police.