Medical Insurance | ExpatWoman.com

Medical Insurance

Latest post on 30 June 2016 - 22:23

Hello :) I'm new to Dubai and wondered if anyone knows much about the mandatory medical cover rule for working expats?
I have a temp 12 month contract, should I be covered by my employer by law? My contract is no frills.
Thanks in advance!

Latest post on 27 August 2020 - 16:41
I would like to suggest the Oman Insurance Company. Last year, I bought medical insurance for my family from there. They provide medical insurance at affordable prices. They are leading Medical insurance in Dubai. For more log on to https://www.omaninsurance.ae/Individuals/Health
Latest post on 07 July 2016 - 17:07
Thanks for your reply! They have given me a residency visa, so I wasn't sure if I should be covered by the new rules. :( In that case, does anyone know the best places to get cheap but decent cover? I've just enquired with Bupa and they quoted me $5,500 (USD!) which obviously I can't afford. Thanks x Consider travel insurance? About $3,000 a year. Bootsnall has insurance up to one year available. They also have the mandatory minimum which is like $200 a year. (about 750dhs). Doesn't cover much but it meets the requirement while you shop around.
Latest post on 05 July 2016 - 09:17
You could try Noor Takaful. They are advertising basic medical insurance at around 500 AED I believe. This is aimed at low income, wives on husband's visas etc. It may or may not be suitable for your needs. I don't think residence visas will be issued now without proof of medical insurance.
Latest post on 05 July 2016 - 08:34
If a company holds another emirate licence yet the employee works in Dubai do they still have to provide medical insurance?
Latest post on 05 July 2016 - 08:23
Avoid AXA - they're terrible. Nexcare are much better for a basic plan. I got a pretty good deal of about 4,000 for my coverage. AXA wanted double.
Latest post on 04 July 2016 - 20:32