Breast Cancer Awareness |

5 Stages of Breast Cancer

If you've been diagnosed with breast cancer, you’ll want to know what stage it is, because it is one of the most important factors in evaluating treatment options for your condition...

Posted on

27 October 2019

Last updated on 27 October 2019
5 Stages of Breast Cancer

There are 5 stages for breast cancer...

Regardless of what your condition is, remember that, your diagnosis might mean you have to think about your fertility earlier than you had planned. Doctors have many ways to find out what stage of breast cancer you are on.

They use diagnostic tests to find out cancer's stage, so staging may not be complete until all the tests are finished. Knowing the stage helps the doctor to decide what kind of treatment is best and can help predict a patient's prognosis, which is the chance of recovery.

The 5 stages of breast cancer are:

Stage 0 (zero)

If cancer has been diagnosed early. It started in the breast ducts or milk glands and has stayed there.

SEE ALSO: Find Out If There is a Link Between Gut Microbiota and Infertility

Stage 1

At this stage breast cancer is the earliest stage of invasive breast cancer. In stage 1, the tumor measures up to 2 cm and no lymph nodes are involved. At this stage, the cancer cells have spread beyond the original location and into the surrounding breast tissue.

Stage 2

Also known as invasive breast cancer, the tumor in this stage measures between 2 cm to 5 cm, or cancer has spread to the lymph nodes under the arm on the same side as the breast cancer. Stage 2 breast cancer indicates a slightly more advanced form of the disease. At this stage, the cancer cells have spread beyond the original location and into the surrounding breast tissue, and the tumor is larger than in stage I disease. However, stage 2 means cancer has not spread to a distant part of the body. At stage 2, a tumor may be detected during a breast self-exam as a hard lump within the breast.

SEE ALSO: 5 Questions About Fertility And Metastatic Breast Cancer

Stage 3

Also known as locally advanced breast cancer, the tumor in this stage of breast cancer is more than 2 inches in diameter across and the cancer is extensive in the underarm lymph nodes or has spread to other lymph nodes or tissues near the breast. At this stage, the cancer cells have usually not spread to more distant sites in the body, but they are present in several axillary (underarm) lymph nodes. The tumor may also be quite large at this stage, possibly extending to the chest wall or the skin of the breast.

Stage 4

Also known as metastatic breast cancer, cancer in this stage has spread beyond the breast, underarm and internal mammary lymph nodes to other parts of the body near to or distant from the breast. At this stage, cancer has spread elsewhere in the body. The affected areas may include the bones, brain, lungs or liver and more than one part of the body may be involved.

And there are 3 Types of recurrent breast cancer:

  • Local recurrence is when cancer has returned to the same location as the original cancer.
  • Regional recurrence is when cancer has been found in or near the original location.
  • Distant recurrence is when breast cancer has spread to other parts of the body. This is also considered metastatic breast cancer.

To book an appointment or submit an inquiry with a fertility expert at Fakih IVF Fertility Center, press 'Click to Contact'.

Fakih IVF
Sponsored by
Fakih IVF (Dubai)
Fakih IVF has helped over 15,000 couples realize their dream of parenthood. Since the birth of its first in vitro baby in the USA in 1987, Fakih IVF has been at the forefront of infertility treatment, having one of the highest birth rates in the world.

Al Wasl