Balancing Budget rental issues versus living in a pet friendly area | ExpatWoman.com

Balancing Budget rental issues versus living in a pet friendly area

Latest post on 23 July 2014 - 12:50
Thank you ladies for sharing. I am a student at the WMA and I am writing an assignment paper on this topic and your opinions are most appreciated. I originally thought that rental pricing was affecting pet adoption and fuelling the abandonment issue. I did some research on rental pricing and there are plenty of places that will accommodate dogs to suit all budgets might not be the area one wants to live in but as you all said you make the necessary changes. It was also very interesting to hear when I called K9 friends and they said that adoption rates for apt dwellings weren't any lower either, that they home small dogs very quickly and are short of them. Very sad really
Latest post on 23 July 2014 - 09:33
My dogs were 1 and 2 when unfortunately hubby and I split up and I had to move to smaller villa, in Springs. However, after 2 years I can no longer afford this on my own and so have had to reluctantly move to an apartment. I was extremely anxious about my dogs and didnt do this lightly at all, but financially could not afford any villa. We are now in IMPZ, 12th floor, which is not ideal but dogs are allowed here and we (my son and I) just have to make a bigger effort to walk them more often (although sometimes it is a thought to go down 12 floors when previously you could just open the back door). There is a policy which lists which breeds of dogs you are allowed to have in the apartments. I am lucky that my 2 are really small dogs and they have adapted quickly. I could not have contemplated giving them away. But if I had been in an apartment before I got the dogs I would never have taken them, I do still feel a villa and garden is much better. But we all have to adapt as best we can.
Latest post on 23 July 2014 - 08:49