Visiting Dubai/ Possibly looking to stay | ExpatWoman.com

Visiting Dubai/ Possibly looking to stay

Latest post on 29 May 2015 - 06:21

I am visiting a friend this July and was considering looking for employment. I am a recent graduate and have been looking into getting certified to teach English as a second language. During my visit I plan to look for teaching jobs that will sponsor my work visa if I decide to stay. I am American, and I will be TEFL certified.As of now I have a one way ticket to Dubai and from my understanding it is required that I have a return ticket or a ticket to another country.

Does anyone have any advice on how I should go about getting a visa extension or advice on my situation?

Anything will help.

Thanks!

Latest post on 01 June 2015 - 08:29
You don't have certification yet to teach English. You have no experience. You are not certified to teach in the US or UK school systems K-12 or I've missed something in the previous posts? You do not qualify for any jobs that will provide you with sponsorship and benefits (medical/annual tickets/housing, etc). It is illegal to work here without proper sponsorship. Housing is expensive and if not sharing, you may have to pay the full year's rent in advance - if not sponsored, you cannot get a bank loan for this purpose. Unless you've got a good financial cushion to keep you going while you try to find one of the AED7,000/month jobs you're going to find it tough sledding IMO.
Latest post on 31 May 2015 - 22:31
Thank you all for your great answers. It is what I need to make up my mind/decision. I have friends already living in Dubai, working for Emirates. However, the job of cabin crew is not for me.
Latest post on 31 May 2015 - 13:53