Is it cheaper to buy a watch in Dubai or Uk? | ExpatWoman.com

Is it cheaper to buy a watch in Dubai or Uk?

Latest post on 01 September 2014 - 06:48
Thanks all. Unfortunately I won't be traveling before his birthday and I stupidly didn't look in DDF last time I went through. So if I start off at about 30% off the asking price, I might end up with 10% off the price? Or is the best strategy to offer cash? Sorry for all the questions. I'm new to this haggling!
Latest post on 01 September 2014 - 04:21
i bought both my tags at DDF - both cheaper than the UK
Latest post on 31 August 2014 - 17:32
We bought both our Tags from Siddique & Sons in MOE for far less than the UK. Mine was bought 4 years ago and DH's 7. Mine was 8,000Dhs here but in the UK they wanted 2850GBP!!! It was around the same price difference with DH's watch. You must haggle though in the shops here. I spent around an hour haggling in the store for DH's watch.
Latest post on 31 August 2014 - 11:24
I bought my husband a Breitling here in Dubai and it was quite a bit cheaper than buying the same in the UK (I didnt factor in claiming back the VAT, as we fly through Glasgow, and there are no VAT officials based there, so my one attempt at doing this didnt work and the paperwork mysteriously vanished!) You can negotiate in the store no problem - just as what deal they will do for cash. They even had to order in the particular style I wanted, and still gave me quite a bit off the ticket price.
Latest post on 30 August 2014 - 18:29
I agree, try. For those brands youre looking, it's worth a shot. It's common here unless you see "fixed price" on the door or something...
Latest post on 30 August 2014 - 11:19
You can definitely haggle the price down in Rivoli, so I expect you can try in most shops. <em>edited by Britgirldubai on 30/08/2014</em>
Latest post on 30 August 2014 - 10:50