Which oil do you use in cakes | ExpatWoman.com

Which oil do you use in cakes

Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 15:44
Have you thought of using almond oil perhaps :)
Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 14:45
I have just made a carrot cake using the Organic Cafés olive oil and my cake taste of olive oil...I'm a useless baker, but wanted to try to make something for a change. Please share your secrets for cakes like carrot cake that has oil in the recipe. I always use canola oil, made from oil seed rape, as I always have a bottle on the go (it has a very high 'smoke point' so is good for roasting/frying etc). It's allegedly a healthy oil as far as oils go, and it's completely tasteless, unlike stinky, yucky, nasty coconut oil! (Can you tell I'm not a fan?!) It's very economical and available at all supermarkets.
Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 13:42
The 'Themed Boards' were handy when the board moved quicker than a Buggati Veyron on Emirates Road. Not so much anymore.
Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 12:46
Hi there! We recommend posting food related posts on the Foodie section of the forum: http://www.expatwoman.com/forum/forum34-foodie-forum.aspx Just so ladies know where to look if they want to learn something about foodie-related. Many thanks! Warm regards, EW Admin
Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 11:49
I always use coconut oil, I prefer the texture it gives compared to other oils. But if you've got nothing against butter then that is perfect.
Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 11:25
Sunflower oil Or...butter where I can (yes i know I know...but it's a cake, it's not meant to be diet food) I also made an "Olive oil cake" once...even the kids wouldn't eat it :) Butter is healthy now, don't you know?
Latest post on 28 May 2015 - 11:25