Coronavirus Qatar: Entry Ban for Travelers from 14 Countries |

Qatar Bans Entry of Passengers From 14 Countries

Qatar citizens and expats are asked not to visit any of the listed countries unless absolutely necessary.

Posted on

9 March 2020

Last updated on 9 March 2020
Qatar Bans Entry of Passengers From 14 Countries

Local airline carrier Qatar Airways has also suspended all flights to Italy, which has currently locked down 16 million people.

Qatar announced a temporary travel ban on travelers from 14 countries due to concerns over Covid-19. The official statement after the Qatar Ministry of Health and the Qatar News Agency (QNA) confirmed three more cases of the novel Coronavirus.

The ban restricts entry for people arriving in Qatar from any one of these countries:

  • Bangladesh
  • China
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Lebanon
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Syria
  • Thailand

The ban will remain in effect until further notice.

Schools and universities across the country will be temporarily shut down from Tuesday, March 20 as a precautionary measure against Coronavirus, Al Arabiya reported.

The first case of the virus in Qatar was on February 29 - a citizen who had returned from Iran, of which the virus had swept through the country and infected over 6,000 people and killed 145.

Local authorities said that Qataris and GCC Nationals entering Qatar must use their passports instead of ID cards.