Official UAE Holiday Dates for 2017/2018 | expatwoman.com
 

Official UAE Holiday Dates for 2017/2018

We've got all of the important dates for you to make a note of for both 2017 and 2018 right here so you can plan your year

Posted on

15 January 2014

Last updated on 25 September 2017
Official UAE Holiday Dates for 2017/2018

Here we take a look at the holiday dates for Dubai and the rest of the UAE, including the fixed holidays as well as the ones that are dependent on moon sightings, such as when Ramadan will start and end this year.

Before taking note of the holiday dates listed below, please remember that Islamic holiday dates are subject to change due to moon sightings, and thus may differ from the date given below. Also, in the UAE, weekends are Friday and Saturday. 

A public holiday in the UAE can be moved to the beginning or end of a week if it falls between two working days

For more information about any one of the holidays, we have full guides here: Ramadan, Eid Al Fitr, Eid Al Adha, Commemoration Day and UAE National Day


UAE Public Holidays 2017

While the first public holiday for the region isn't until the end of April, residents and visitors to the region will no doubt enjoy an extra few days off towards the end of the year. 
 

Day Date Holiday Comments
Sunday 1st January New Years Day  
Monday 24th April Israa & Miaraj Night* Ascension of the Prophet
Saturday 27th May Ramadan begins* Date the Holy Month is expected to begin
Sunday 25th June Eid Al Fitr*  
Thursday 31st August Arafat Day* Arafat Day or Day of Arafa is the 2nd day of the Haj
Friday 1st September Eid Al Adha* Date varies depending on lunar cycle
Friday 22nd September Hijri New Years Day* Islamic New Year
Thursday 30th November  UAE Commemoration Day (Martyrs' Day) To commemorate the UAE soldiers that have lost their lives
Thursday 30th November Prophet Muhammad's Birthday*  
Friday 2nd December UAE National Day  
Saturday 3rd December UAE National Day Holiday Public sector only

*Remember that certain dates throughout the year may change as they are dependent on moon sightings. 


You might also be interested in...


UAE Public Holidays 2018

As Ramadan creeps towards the beginning of the year, it means that holidays like Eid offer the perfect opportunity to escape Dubai's summer heat. 

Day Date Holiday Comments
Monday 1st January New Years Day  
Friday 13th April Israa & Miaraj Night* Ascension of the Prophet
 
Wednesday 16th May First day of Ramadan* Date the Holy Month is expected to begin
Thursday 15th June Eid Al Fitr*  
Tuesday 21st August Arafat Day* Arafat Day or Day of Arafa is the 2nd day of the Haj
Wednesday 22nd August Eid Al Adha* Date varies depending on lunar cycle
Tuesday 11th September Hijri New Years Day* Islamic New Year
Tuesday 20th November Prophet Muhammad's Birthday*  
Friday 30th November UAE Commemoration Day (Martyrs' Day) To commemorate the UAE soldiers that have lost their lives
Saturday 2nd December UAE National Day  
Sunday 3rd December UAE National Day Holiday Public sector only

*Remember that certain dates throughout the year may change as they are dependent on moon sightings. 

 

ON EXPATWOMAN TODAY